ADAPT Workgroups

ADAPT has several workgroups that focus on different area of focus within the disability community. CART is available upon request for all workgroups. Please contact the Chairs of the Workgroup(s) that you want to participate in to let them know your accommodations.

In order to participate in any of the ADAPT workgroups you MUST:
  • Be an Active ADAPT member of an ADAPT Chapter.
When you call into an ADAPT Workgroup you will need to:
  • Make sure to announce yourself when entering the call.
    (Example: Hi, this is ________ from ________ ADAPT chapter).
  • Active participation is encouraged and recommended. Simply calling in but not interacting is not helpful to anyone.
  • Ask questions if you don’t understand something. We are here to help each other carry on the disability advocacy work.
  • The expectation of the participants is to relay the information to your local ADAPT Chapters so that the chapter can do the advocacy work.
  • Taking notes during the ADAPT Workgroup call will be helpful.

If you want to join any ADAPT Workgroup, please contact the respective Co-Chairs in each of the workgroups below.


Workforce Workgroup

The ADAPT Workforce Workgroup works on issues relating to Community Attendants. Community Attendants are the backbone of the long term services and supports system.
Community attendants assist individuals with disabilities to live independently and be part of the community.

We discuss and work on policies of:

  1. Managed Care Organization
  2. Electronic Visit Verification (EVV)
  3. Ways to increase the wages and benefits of the Community Attendant Workforce
  4. Recruitment and Retention of Community Attendants
  5. Network Adequacy of Community Attendants

If you are interested in working on policies to make positive change that are affecting the attendant workforce and the lives of people with disabilities, please join us.

Meets: On the 1st Thursday of every month at 5pm Pacific Time (PST), 6pm Mountain Time (MST), 7pm Central Time (CST), 8pm Eastern Time (EST)

Co-Chairs: Cathy Cranston & Susan Stahl

Contact Workforce Workgroup chairs:


Media Workgroup

The Media Workgroup raises public and media awareness for ADAPT Actions and other events. There are about 11 roles and responsibilities that the ADAPT media team works on during every ADAPT Action to make it a success. If you can’t make it to an ADAPT Action but want to be part of Media workgroup, no worries, there are roles that you can do from your home to help the ADAPT Media Workgroup.

Meets: On the 2nd Monday of every month at 4pm Pacific Time (PST), 5pm Mountain Time (MST), 6pm Central Time (CST), 7pm Eastern Time (EST)

Co-Chairs: Marilee Adamski-Smith

Contact Media Workgroup chair:


Ending the Institutional Bias Workgroup

The Ending the Institutional Bias/Community Integration Act Workgroup works on issues related to ending institutional bias. For example one of the current things that we are focusing on is the EMPOWER Act which is the replacement for Money Follows Person.

Meets: On the 2nd Wednesday of every month at 5pm Pacific Time (PST), 6pm Mountain Time (MST), 7pm Central Time (CST), 8pm Eastern Time (EST)

Co-Chairs: Mike Oxford & Jennifer McPhail

Contact EIB Workgroup chairs:


Housing Workgroup

The Housing Workgroup works on accessible affordable integrated housing issues.

ADAPT demands more housing resources not less, no cuts to housing resources, no rent increases and no work requirements. Along with other ADAPT actions throughout the year the Housing Workgroup organizes actions during the National Housing Week, throughout the nation.

Meets: On the 3rd Monday of every month at 1:30pm Pacific Time (PST), 2:30pm Mountain Time (MST), 3:30pm Central Time (CST), 4:30pm Eastern Time (EST)

Co-Chairs: Daniese McMullin-Powell & Nancy Salandra

Contact Housing Workgroup chairs:


Fundraising Workgroup

A lot of the good grassroots work is done by ADAPT. All of that requires funding. The Fundraising workgroup addresses this. The group spearheads the Fun Run which is our primary fund raising event every year.

Meets: On the 3rd Thursday of every month at 5pm (PST), 6pm (MST), 7pm (CST) , 8 pm (EST)

Co-Chairs: Nancy Salandra and Bob Kafka

Email: nancysalandra@libertyresources.org and Bob.adapt@sbcglobal.net

Contact Fundraising Workgroup chairs:


Intersectionality Workgroup

ADAPT is an organization that is as diverse as the people that are a part it.  ADAPT recognizes the importance of exemplifying our diversity throughout our organizational structure.  We believe that ADAPT must work to address and dismantle structural racism within ADAPT, and that individuals from marginalized communities should have representation throughout ADAPT’s leadership at the local, state, and national level.
 
The purpose of ADAPT’s Intersectionality Workgroup is to ensure this happens, as well as to work on other issues that affect marginalized communities that intersect with ours.
 
Meets: On the 3rd Tuesday at 4pm Pacific Time (PST), 5pm Mountain Time (MST), 6pm Central Time (CST), 7pm Eastern Time (EST)

Co-Chairs: Anita Cameron, Josue Rodriguez & Rhoda Gibson

Contact Intersectionality Workgroup chairs:


Disability Integration Act (DIA) Workgroup

The Disability Integration Act (DIA) Workgroup is devoted entirely to the Disability Integration Act (DIA). The DIA Workgroup focuses on helping activists advocate for ADAPT’s signature legislation. The Disability Integration Act (DIA) is civil rights legislation, introduced by Senator Schumer in the Senate and Representative Sensenbrenner in the House, to address the fundamental issue that people who need Long Term Services and Supports (LTSS) are forced into institutions and losing their basic civil rights. The legislation (S.910, H.R.2472) builds on the 25 years of work that ADAPT has done to end the institutional bias and provide seniors and people with disabilities home and community-based services (HCBS) as an alternative to institutionalization.

Meets: On the 4th Tuesday of every month at 1pm Pacific Time (PST), 2pm Mountain Time (MST), 3pm Central Time (CST), 4pm Eastern Time (EST)

Co-Chairs: Dawn Russell & Stephanie Woodward

Contact DIA Workgroup chairs:


Community First Choice (CFC) Workgroup

The Community First Choice (CFC) Workgroup discusses ways on how to implement the Community First Choice Option in your State. In the meetings you will hear from States that have implemented or are in the process of implementing the Community First Choice Option in their State. We will help you through the process to get CFC in your State.

CFCO is a community-based Medicaid state plan service which includes hands on assistance, safety monitoring, and cueing for assistance with activities of daily living, instrumental activities of daily living and health related functions based on functional need, not diagnosis or age. It supports choice, independence, and integration in accordance with the Olmstead decision. Services must be provided in a home and community-based setting and cannot be provided in a nursing facility, institution for mental diseases, or intermediate care facility. States that implement CFC will receive an additional 6% in federal matching funds, with no sunset.

Meets: The Community First Choice (CFC) Workgroup Co-Chairs will meet with individual ADAPT Chapters upon request.

Co-Chairs: Dawn Russell & Stephanie Woodward

Contact CFC Workgroup chairs: